What Type of Education is Required to be an Architect?

The type of education required to be an architect varies by country. In the United States, most states require architects to have a professional degree from an accredited university, such as a Bachelor of Architecture or Master of Architecture.

Checkout this video:


The education required to be an architect varies by country. In the United States, most states require an accredited professional degree in architecture for licensure. These accredited programs typically offer a five-year Bachelor of Architecture (B.Arch.) degree or a four-year Bachelor of Science in Architecture (B.S.Arch.) degree. Some states require a Master of Architecture (M.Arch.) degree for licensure.

High school

Education requirements vary depending on the level of job and specialization within the field of architecture. However, most architects have at least a Bachelor of Architecture (B.Arch.) degree. Many firms require applicants to have a Master of Architecture (M.Arch.) degree as well. Therefore, the first step to becoming an architect is to complete a professional degree in architecture from an accredited school of architecture.

There are currently 122 accredited schools of architecture in the United States that offer professional degrees in architecture. admission into most accredited professional degree programs requires completion of a pre-professional undergraduate degree in architecture and satisfying basic math and science prerequisite coursework. Prerequisite coursework varies by school, but typically includes two semesters each of calculus, physics, and drawing, as well as general education coursework in English, social sciences, and humanities. A portfolio is also often required for admission into most professional degree programs.


In order to become an architect, you must complete a professional degree in architecture, which typically takes about five years. During your studies, you will take classes in design, history, theory, construction methods, and other topics related to the field of architecture. After completing your degree, you will need to complete a period of internship before you can be licensed to practice architecture.


To become an architect you usually need to complete an accredited degree in architecture, which takes about five years. To get into a course you usually need to have completed year 12 or an equivalent qualification with good results in English, mathematics, physics and computer-aided design and drafting (CADD).

Bachelor’s degree

A bachelor’s degree in architecture is generally a four-year undergraduate degree that individuals complete at an accredited college or university. There are many different types of programs that offer a bachelor’s degree in architecture, and each one is designed to provide students with the knowledge and skills they need to pursue a career in this field.

Some programs focus on the technical aspects of architecture, while others emphasize the design aspects. Some programs offer a combined approach, and some allow students to choose a particular area of focus. Many programs also include an internship or cooperative education experience, which allows students to gain real-world experience in an architectural firm.

Master’s degree

Most states require that licensed architects have a professional degree from an accredited program. In the United States, most accredited programs are at the master’s level, although some bachelor’s and first-professional degree programs are also accredited. A small number of doctoral programs are also accredited. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the agency responsible for accrediting professional degree programs in architecture, currently accredits over 250 professional degree programs in the United States.

To be eligible for licensure, architects must earn a degree from an accredited professional degree program and complete a period of internship or equivalent experience. The Intern Development Program (IDP) is a nationwide coordinated program that integrates education, experience, and examination to meet requirements for licensure. IDP participation is required in order to sit for most state architectural registration exams.


The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole accrediting body for professional architectural education in the United States, offers three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture (B.Arch.), the Master of Architecture (M.Arch.), and the Doctor of Architecture (D.Arch).

Architectural Registration Examination

The Architectural Registration Examination (ARE) is a multiple-choice examination used in the United States to assess an applicant’s knowledge and skills regarding the practice of architecture. The ARE is developed and administered by the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) and is used by all U.S. states and territories as a condition of architectural registration. The examination consists of seven divisions: Programming & Analysis, Site Planning & Design, Building Design & Construction Systems, Structural Systems,Schematic Design, Construction Documents & Services, and Professional Practice.

Continuing education

It is required that architects keep up with the latest technologies and trends. They can do this in a number of ways, but one of the most common is through continuing education courses. Many colleges and universities offer these courses, which can be taken online or in person.

Professional development courses

In order to maintain licensure, architects are required to complete a certain amount of continuing education credits (CECs) every year. The number of credits required varies by state, but is typically between eight and sixteen. CECs can be obtained in a variety of ways, including attending workshops, taking classes, attending conferences, and participating in online courses. Many professional organizations also offer CECs.


All states require licensure for architects. To become licensed, architects must earn a professional degree from an accredited program, gain relevant experience through an internship, and pass the Architect Registration Examination® (ARE®). There are three paths to licensure:

– traditional path
– concurrent path
– integrated path

The traditional path to licensure requires accredited professional architectural training and internship experience prior to taking the ARE. The concurrent path allows candidates to complete their training and internship requirements concurrently with the ARE. The integrated path combines professional architectural education with internship experience into one integrated program that culminates in eligibility to take the ARE.

Scroll to Top